Award Categories

The Women in Digital Awards were founded in 2018 based on the idea ‘you can’t be what you can’t see.’

We believe that unless we have more visible role models in digital and technology we won’t change the status quo. By shining a light on industry leaders, we shine a light on the career pathways and possibilities that digital and technology provides to women.

In 2023 we have 15 award categories in which you can nominate an outstanding woman (or team), or be proud about your own achievements and nominate yourself for one (or two) of the categories below.

Go to the Nomination Portal

2023 Award Categories.

Founder of the Year

An award for Australia’s leading female digital founder. Demonstrating a true entrepreneurial spirit and with vision and excellent execution, this founder and her organisation will leave an impact.

Learn More

Executive Leader of the Year

Awarded to Australia’s most outstanding executive leader in the digital sector, this category recognises the importance of leadership in driving digital transformation in Australia and across their organisation and industry.

Learn More

Innovator of the Year

Awarded to Australia’s most outstanding innovator, this category recognises the most forward-thinking, innovative and disruptive product, service or business enhancement of the year.

Powered by Auto & General

Learn More

Digital Marketer of the Year

Celebrating a data-driven Digital Marketer who has achieved exceptional results across any medium including but not limited to search, paid, programmatic, EDM, content or Social Media completed in the Australian market during the 2020/21 Financial Year.

Learn More

Rising Star of the Year

This award recognises an ambitious innovator who has demonstrated an outstanding level of initiative and leadership as a digital specialist within the first five years of your career.

Powered by Entain

Learn More

Data Leader of the Year

This award recognises a distinctive business leader who has built a revolutionary data-centric program while guiding teams to outstanding achievement through vision, inspiration, creativity, and commitment.

Powered by Shell Energy

Learn More

Customer Experience Leader of the Year

Recognising the extraordinary power of customer experience design to create integrated omnichannel experiences. This is an individual entry designed to recognise and showcase incredible intuitive and branded customer experiences.

Powered by Symplicit

Learn More

UX Leader of the Year

This category recognises the extraordinary power of user experience design to create meaningful and intuitive digital experiences.

Learn More

Software Engineer of the Year

The recipient of this award has shown that they are a leader in developing software with achievements that have been completed in the Australian market during the 2020/21 Financial Year.

Powered by Youi

Learn More

Champion of Change

This award recognises remarkable people in industry, awarded to the best Australian Champion of Change working in digital and technology to improve sustainability, accessibility, inclusion or equality.

Powered by Blackcard

Learn More

Technical Leader of the Year

This award champions someone that leads the successful delivery of high-performing technology applications (or projects) and as a result enhances commercial outcomes for an organisation.

Powered by Culture Amp

Learn More

Digital Workforce: Skills for the Future

This organisational award recognises the important role employers play in evolving their workforces’ skills and capabilities to keep pace with the fourth digital revolution.

Learn More

Employer of the Year

Recognising the importance of diversity in developing more innovative and inclusive companies to support the future pipeline of women in technology. The WIDAwards were created in the belief that digital services and products should be built by all people, for all people and this award honours that.

Powered by Hunt & Co

Learn More

Digital Transformation Leader of the Year

This award recognises a distinctive business leader driving the transformation of an organisation through digital technology. For this category we are looking for exceptional change, project and stakeholder management from the Digital Transformation Leader.

Powered by TechnologyOne

Learn More

Indigenous Leader of the Year

This award acknowledges First Nations’ voices are imperative in helping to build the technology we all use every day and are uniquely placed to use technology to solve problems that are specific to their community including preserving language and culture for future generations.

Powered by RACQ

Learn More


The awards gala is where the community comes together – providing a great opportunity to network with industry leaders.

Why enter?

  • Self-reflection and recognition. You’d be amazed by the number of times we hear, “I didn’t realise how well I was doing! I feel like a winner just for entering”. The nomination process encourages you to take stock of your wins and articulate your achievements.
  • Business visibility. By entering the Women in Digital Awards, you’ll have some of the industry’s finest judges and leaders review your entry and learn more about the work you do. If you become a finalist or winner, you’ll have even more of the industry’s best and brightest learning about the incredible work you do! This is business gold (hello free PR!)
  • Career visibility. If you know the value of good marketing, you’ll know that it’s not just reserved for products and services. That principle also applies to careers! Get your work out there, and let the success speak volumes about you.
  • Inspiring others. If you struggle with the limelight, remember that your entry and potential win(!) isn’t just about you. By putting yourself forward and showcasing your work in digital and technology you have the opportunity inspire young girls and women to follow in your footsteps and realise a career in technology.

Go to the Nomination Portal